jump to navigation

Swatch six times on the ceiling if you want meeee… January 18, 2010

Posted by yarnplaycafe in Knitting.
trackback

Heh. For some reason, I’ve been singing all morning. It’s not as if I’m in a stellar mood or anything, and I’m normally not a singer-type person, but songs keep popping into my head for various reasons.

On the personal front, last week was rough. My husband finally came down with the stomach virus that the rest of us had gotten between Christmas and New Year’s Day. And instead of being better in two days, he was sick almost the whole week long. It was rough.

But in there somewhere, I managed to swatch. A lot.

Swatching

I was swatching for the Tea Leaves Cardigan. I really wanted to use that brown tweed you see at the bottom and third from the bottom. It’s on a cone from Scotland and it’s beautiful. But try as I might (two different times), I couldn’t get and keep gauge, which is five stitches per inch. So I tried Araucania Nature Wool, which worked, but I didn’t want to have to alternate skeins because I’m lazy. Then I tried another cone from Scotland and Jo Sharp Silkroad DK. Then I tried Rowanspun Aran and lo. I really liked the fabric on size 6 needles and got gauge before washing. After washing it was slightly bigger, but that’s perfect because the pattern goes from 36 to 40, and I would like it to be 38. So that’s what I chose…

Tea Leaves Cardigan

Wish me luck. Because I still feel like, even after swatching six blessed times, that there’s a fair amount of luck involved in getting the right fit. Isn’t there?

Comments»

1. Tracey - January 19, 2010

found your blog through etsy. Universal truth, you never get gauge so you always have to adjust the pattern. Therefore, I rarely use other people’s patterns.


Leave a Reply

