jump to navigation

Equal Opportunity Crafting February 4, 2010

Posted by yarnplaycafe in Business, Crochet, Knitting.
trackback

My first introduction to yarn, like so many people, was through my grandmother–my mom’s mother. In the finished attic of her small house in Dayton, Ohio, she had boxes of colorful, acrylic yarn. She made a lot of afghans, even one for each of her grandchildren. She taught her willing grandchildren to crochet, and I can remember making doll afghans as a child.

But that was the extent of it. My mother sewed and wasn’t interested in fiber arts at all. I learned to knit in 2000 through a course, when I was 28 years old.

And then it started…people started having babies. I wanted to make blankets. Knitting a blanket seems to take such a long time. I wanted to learn how to crochet again. So I took a class, and it’s a work in progress, I admit. I’m having trouble counting and “seeing” each stitch. But just like how I learned it with knitting, I know it will come along with time, practice and patience.

That’s why I’m especially happy to offer bags for crocheters, too. I’m told that crochet-proud items can be difficult to come by. I hope you like them!

Classy Crochet Create. Crochet!

Comments»

1. Trista - February 5, 2010

LOVE them.


Leave a Reply

